Decision and Cognitive Sciences Research Centre

Our team

Our team


Professor Jian-Bo Yang

Professor of Decision and System Sciences              
Director of the Decision and Cognitive Sciences        
Research Centre (DCS)

Professor John Keane

MG Singh Professor of Computing Science, 
School of Computer Sciences
Co-Director of DCS
Alliance MBS Honorary Staff Member

Academic Staff Members


Dr Richard Allmendinger

Lecturer in Decision Science


Dr Manuel López-Ibáñez

Lecturer in Decision Science

Dr Yu-Wang Chen

Senior Lecturer in Decision Sciences


Dr Oscar De Bruijn 

Honorary Lecturer in Cognitive Sciences and Systems & Founder of



Dr Steve Eldridge 

Senior Lecturer in Operations Management
Lancaster University


Professor Simon French

Emeritus Professor of Information and Decision Sciences
University of Warwick

Dr Julia Handl

Senior Lecturer in Decision Sciences

Dr Zhiyuan Lin

Lecturer in Management Sciences

Professor Joshua Knowles

Professor of Natural Computation
University of Birmingham
Alliance MBS Honorary Professor

Dr Jose Merigo Lindahl

Professor in Decision Sciences
University of Chile

Professor Andrew McMeekin

Professor of Innovation and Sustainability

Dr Ludmil Mikhailov

Senior Lecturer in Decision Sciences

Dr Nadia Papamichail

Senior Lecturer in Information and Decision Systems

Dr Nathan Proudlove

Senior Lecturer in Decision Sciences and Operations Management

Dr Weigang Wang

Lecturer in Information and Decision Systems

Professor Dong-Ling Xu

Chair of Decision Sciences and Systems

Professor Theo Stewart 

Professor in Decision Sciences

Dr Xiao-Jun Zeng
Senior Lecturer in Data and Decision Engineering
School of Computer Sciences
Alliance MBS Honorary Staff Member

  Dr Luis Ospina-Forero

Presidential Fellow (academic) 

Advisors from Other Schools

  • Professor Dave Broomhead, Head of CICADA (Applied Mathematics, SoM)
  • Professor Peter Halfpenny, Manchester Informatics (School of Social Sciences, SoSS)
  • Professor Colin Hughes, Associate Dean, External Affairs of EPS (Applied Geosciences, SoEAES)
  • Professor Chris Taylor, Associate Vice-President for Research (Computing and Imaging, SoCS)
  • Professor Horst Zank, Head of Economics (Micro-Economics, SoSS)
  • Professor Matt Lambon-Ralph, Associate Vice-President for Research (School of Psychology)
  • Professor Angela Dale, ESRC Research Methods Programme Director (Quantitative Social Research, SoSS)

Associate Members

  • Dr Ting Wu, Associate Professor, Shanghai Dianji University, China; Academic Visitor, University of Manchester, UK
  • Professor Alan Pearman, University of Leeds, UK
  • Professor Brian Dangerfield, University of Salford, UK
  • Professor Bob Wood, the University of Manchester, UK
  • Professor Kostas Nikolopoulos, Bangor University, UK
  • Professor Khairy Kobbacy, University of Salford, UK
  • Dr Aleksej Heinze, University of Salford, UK
  • Mr Mhorag Goff, University of Salford, UK
  • Professor Malcolm Beynon, Cardiff University
  • Professor Kwai-Sang Chin, City University of Hong Kong, China
  • Professor Johannes Gehrke, Cornell University, USA
  • Professor Jutta Geldermann, University of Gottingen, Germany
  • Dr David Haglin, Pacific North-Western National Laboratory, USA
  • Professor Ulrike Hahn, Cardiff University
  • Professor Khalil S Hindi, American University of Beirut (AUB), Lebanon
  • Professor Richard L. Lewis, University of Michigan, USA
  • Professor John Maule, Leeds University, UK
  • Professor Stephen Payne, University of Bath
  • Professor Robert Spence, Imperial College London
  • Professor Da Ruan, Belgian Nuclear Research Centre and Ghent University, Belgium
  • Professor Francisco Ruiz de la Rua, University of Malaga, Spain
  • Professor Ahti Salo, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
  • Professor Ralph E Steuer, University of Georgia, USA
  • Ms Rose Tittensor, Head of Fraud & Error Measurement Information Directorate, Department for Work and Pensions, UK

Researcher Staff Members as to August 2010

Project title









Research Students as to October 2018

Project title









The Decision and Cognitive Science Research Centre has become a world leading centre of research excellence in the areas of Multiple Criteria Decision Analysis (MCDA) and Decision Support Systems (DSS).

Contact us

  • Address:
    Manchester Business School
    Booth Street West
    M15 6PB, UK

  • Phone:
    +44 (0) 161 820 8344